Archive for January 5, 2011

Waiting is Never Easy!!!

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

Waiting for someone is never easy especially when while waiting , the one you are waiting for is not aware that you are waiting. Hahaha!!! It sounds funny yet annoying.

I used to get about an hour or so for me to be done dressing up, so like when we planned to go somewhere my dear hubby used to tell me to get up and be ready 2-3 hours before going out.  But in the long run, I learned to move faster and get things ready in just a short notice. I always made it a point that ” it’s better for me to wait than to let others keep on waiting for me”.

Yesterday, I went to Central Plaza to meet a friend. While waiting, I bought a cup of Coffee Float at MacDonald, which is my favorite drink. Of course I need to buy something so I can take a spot where I can easily see my friend coming. I was sipping my coffee float little at a time until I realized I was already half past an hour waiting for her… I stood up trying to ignore other customers’ eyes glancing at me, they could be wondering that it took me so long to finish sipping my coffee.

I was at the bus stop waiting for the bus when my phone rang and lo! my friend, the one I was waiting for quite some time at MacDonald asked me if I am free. She wanted me to come with her to The Mall.. I felt a lump in my throat when i tried to choose the right word, trying to be nice in telling her that we agreed to meet at Central Plaza that day and she screwed up our appointment. And innocently, she told me that she totally forgot our appointment to see each other. Poor me! I was waiting for her yet she didn’t know I was…

That’s What Friends Are For

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

I traveled to many different places, met people of different colors, different languages, races and cultures. But when you know how to give a smile to them, simply they give it back to you. That’s where new acquaintances begin and develops into real friendship.

You will only realize that they are designed by God to be there for you, sometimes to help, at times to teach a lesson about life, they come at different times and situations, in such different yet special ways.

It so happened I’m in Thailand, a place far, far away from home. I was so blessed to see friends just come along to help us get through when we were in Ramkhamhaeng Hospital and even when we moved to the Mission Hospital when an emergency happened to my only loving son Justin. I would have never expected them to come and yet they are there for us…What a blessing!!! I tried to refuse the offer of help, but just as it is, that’s what friends are for…it doesn’t matter our color and culture, the friendship started with a simple and sincere smile…

In Such a Time as This…

Posted: January 5, 2011 in Uncategorized

The Psalmist David had said in Psalm 42,’All this happened to us, though we had not forgotten you or been false to your covenant Lord, Our hearts had not turned back; our feet had not strayed from your path…’
There were so much problems that came along in the last quarter of 2010 and as we entered into the new year of 2011, but these would not mean that we are being punished or tortured. All the troubles that we had, the accidents of Justin and Solomon, the illness of Sherlene that needs operation soon, and the painful death of our beloved Freny, and many other trials that revolve around the Arpilleda’s Clan, we take all these in the power of the mighty name of Jesus. It takes us strength and courage to believe in the Almighty God that we can smile in our times of mourning and deep sorrow.
We all know that “God is our strength, an ever-present help in trouble. Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging…The Lord Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.'”
Although at times we felt hopeless and helpless and seem like the world is on our shoulders and we think of quitting. Napoleon Hill once said, “Before success comes in any man’s life, he’s sure to meet with much temporary defeat and, perhaps some failures. When defeat overtakes a man, the easiest and the most logical thing to do is to quit. That’s exactly what the majority of men do.”
For my family, loved ones, relatives and friends, let this be a reminder to us. “So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit – it’s when things seem worst, we must not quit.” For once you quit it could become a habit. Why should we have to do that when we know that GOD IS WITH US in such a time like this..??? 🙂
Thank you Lord that we can get through all these and we declare blessings and happiness for everyone in this New Year 2011, the Year of the Lord’s Favor.