Archive for January 15, 2011

You Raised Me Up

Posted: January 15, 2011 in All About School

The first chapel program for the 2nd semester was a tribute to all the teachers. RAIS celebrated Teachers’ Day last January 12, 2011. There was a hand mime performed by the Grade 11 students and the teachers were invited to be seated in the front rows. I was not very much surprised because i saw my students bringing flowers in going to the auditorium. But what touched me the most was to see the kids giving flowers not only to their homeroom teachers but also to their activity teachers to show their love and appreciation to the teachers. As a homeroom teacher in the 2nd grade, I received gifts and  flowers, a jade bracelet brought by a student from Myanmar and a hand-written letter by another student that says, “Dear Teacher, thank you very much for teaching us not only the lessons from our books but also for teaching us how to become good boys and girls. I love you teacher and I know you love me too.” … oh, I was almost in tears before the program ended.

Everyday, I am teaching the children but I am also learning many things about life from them. Bob Talbert once quoted, “Teaching kids to count is fine, but teaching them what counts is best.” Teaching is never easy but when you learn to like what you are doing, you will learn to love it and it makes teaching easier and worth-doing.

https://i0.wp.com/www.mylivesignature.com/signatures/85864/meandmymom/4da7a88f540888e70c19ba906e1e15da.png