Sotanghon For Long Life

Posted: January 23, 2011 in All About Health and Food

I was invited to a friend’s birthday party. There were many different kinds of food served, lechong baboy (roast pork) fish sinigang, kinilaw (raw fish), grilled fish, fruits and cake for dessert. We have just finished helping ourselves with the sumptuous meal when the host of the party started to cook again. She cooked sotanghon guisado, something that signifies long life. It’s so “aruy mak” (delicious) and the aroma filled the room that everyone who was there turned back to see what’s freshly cooked. And before we knew it, everyone grabbed a plate and fork to enjoy the yummy taste of the long-life giving food, the sotanghon guisado garnished with shrimps and red and green capsicum.

One menu that I love cooking is sotanghon guisado. I used to go to my friend’s Fastfood kitchen just to see and learn for myself how to cook one. I remembered  back in my country that every time there’s a birthday party, my mom never missed preparing spaghetti, pancit (yakisoba) or sotanghon. I really don’t know the real significance of having anything long to represent longer-life in a birthday or new year celebration but it’s common among the Filipino and Chinese families. One thing I know for sure is that it gives the nourishment our bodies need to be healthy. When one is healthy, there is a hope to live life longer and to its fullest. Not only that, kids and adults love this food. 🙂

Comments
  1. My mother in law never fails to cook this on special events. Maybe because she also believed that it has something to do with long life. LOL! Anyway, thanks for sharing your yummy food photo. 🙂

Leave a comment